European Union

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of 27 member states, primarily located in Europe and the world’s largest donor of official development assistance. The EU operates through a system of supranational institutions, one of it being the European Commission (EC) – the EU’s executive body, which represents the interests of Europe as a whole.

Development is at the heart of the EU’s external action, along with its foreign, security and trade policies. The primary and overarching objective of EU development policy is the eradication of poverty in the context of sustainable development, including the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

The WE!Hub project is funded by the European Union under the Directorate General: Development and Cooperation – (EuropeAid).  EuropeAid is responsible for designing EU development policies and delivering aid through programmes and projects across the world. It delivers aid through a set of financial instruments with a focus on ensuring the quality of EU aid and its effectiveness. As an active and proactive player in the development field the EC promotes through EuropeAid good governance, human and economic development and tackles universal issues, such as fighting hunger and preserving natural resources.

For more information, please visit:

Comments are closed.